THINK

John Piper (theologian)

Image via Wikipedia

I am currently reading “Think: The Life of the Mind and the Love of God” by John Piper.  I’m about half way through it at this point, and as with all of Piper’s books I would highly recommend it.  In short it is a exhortation to not neglect the engagement of our mind as we strive to glorify God in our Christian walk.  Rather than giving you an in depth recount of the specifics (I don’t want to give away too much), I’d like to leave you with a couple of quotes that give an idea as to where he is going, and hopefully peak your interest.

“Musing.  Brooding.  Pondering.  Thinking.  That has been for me the pathway to seeing and savoring and singing and speaking – and staying….  Thinking is indispensable on the path to passion for God.  Thinking is not an end in itself.  Nothing  but God himself is finally an end in itself.  Thinking is not the goal of life.  Thinking, like non-thinking, can be the ground for boasting.  Thinking, without prayer, without the Holy Spirit, without obedience, without love, will puff up and destroy (1 Cor. 1:8).  But thinking under the mighty hand of God, thinking soaked in prayer, thinking carried by the Holy Spirit, thinking tethered to the Bible, thinking in pursuit of more reasons to praise and proclaim the glories of God, thinking in the service of love – such thinking is indispensable in a life of fullest praise to God.”

“The fires of love for God need fuel.  And the fires of love for God drive the engines of thought and deed.  There is a circle.  Thinking feeds the fire, and the fire fuels more thinking and doing.  I love God because I know him.  And I want to know him more because I love him.”

This is the fifth book I have read by John Piper, in addition to a daily devotional he wrote, and as I said above I would highly recommend all of them. In fact, I would suggest you read more than one, as the more of them you read the better you will understand exactly where he is coming from.  However, if you could only read one I would have to suggest “Desiring God” as it teases out the central theme for which all his other works revolve.  Below is a list of the Piper books I have read:

  • “Desiring God”
  • “Don’t Waste Your Life”
  • “Fifty Reason Jesus Came to Die” (This is the devotional I mentioned.)
  • “God’s Passion for His Glory”
  • “Let The Nation’s Be Glad”
  • “Think”

On my “to read list are” “The Passions of God” and “Bloodlines”.  That’s as far as Piper goes anyway, there are many more on my general to read list :-)  If I have peaked you interest and you would like a further taste of what this book is about check out the typography introduction to the book below:

2 responses to “THINK

Leave a Reply

