Whatever You Do

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

~1 Corinthians 10:31 (ESV)~

Twitter 6x6

Twitter 6x6 (Photo credit: Steve Woolf)

If every generation must be remembered for something, I think ours just might be remembered for the rise of social media networks.  Don’t get me wrong there are many many things that have happened in this generation that will go down in the history books.  Yet, I think that the advent of social media is a concept that is completely unique to this generation in particular.  After all, at what other time in history have people on opposite sides of the globe been so easily connected?  And even though some would argue their existence has served to disconnect people within the home, they have also provided a very unique and valuable opportunity.  In order to explain what I mean let me go back to the beginning of my experience with Twitter.

A year and a half ago I signed on to Twitter for the first time.  I signed on not to follow MLB or my favorite celebrities, but to follow pastors (and a few friends and family members too).  My thought was that if I was going to be bombarded by messages from the media, then why not let Twitter add some spiritual nourishment to that bombardment.  Now while I initially signed up for the sole purpose of receiving tweets, it wasn’t long before I started tweeting some of my own thoughts.  All along my motivation to utilize Twitter had been spiritual in nature.  However, around that same time I read a blog post by John Piper that really solidified for me the unique opportunity that the social media was providing.  His statement, partially repeated below, was a reaction to John Mayer’s lament that tweeting had crippled his ability to form complete thoughts:

“…My experience of publishing three Tweets a day (usually written and scheduled a week or two ahead of time) is different. Mayer said, “I couldn’t have a complete thought anymore.” To me this is almost the opposite of what happens. But that may depend on what we aim to do with Twitter.  Two aims drive my writing of Tweets: One is theological and the other is aesthetic. I aim to say important theological things. And I aim to say them in a compelling way. Whether I succeed is not mine to judge.  This means that Tweets do not diminish my ability to have a complete thought, they demand it. That’s what a Tweet is—a thought that is complete enough to press some God-focused truth into someone’s consciousness.  This kind of tweeting does not distract from thinking. It demands thinking. A peculiar kind of thinking—thinking that is capacious, concise, and compelling.  The aim is to pack much into little. Big into small. Great into ordinary. Truth into language. God into space and time…” (the emphasis that’s added is mine)

That’s it!  That statement really excites me!  That is the opportunity that we have been afforded with social media, pressing God-focused truth into someone’s consciousness.  As I said before, what makes it extra unique is that with this new form of communication our influence is not bound by geography.  And of course, the statement is not limited to Twitter either.  Its implication can be easily applied to any and all of the social networks available.  That’s what blogging is about for me!  It is about about pressing God-focused truth into the lives of others!

~Matthew Wynne~

Leave a Reply

