Training For Battle

a remix of battle items (battleaxe, sword and ...

Image via Wikipedia

A while back I wrote a post that I called “Discipleship”.  As I think back on it now, “Thinking About Discipleship” might have been a more fitting title.  I say that only because the post was written primarily to ponder what discipleship should look like, as opposed to making any proclamations about it.  The inspiration for the post was sparked by the Highlander clip that I embedded in the post itself.  Not that the TV series Highlander was Christian by any stretch of the imagination, but I wondered if there wasn’t something to be gleaned from the mentoring sequence in the clip.

At the time I merely had some rough ideas as to what there was to learn from the clip in relation to the Piper quote I referenced.  However, after allowing the thoughts to tumble around in my mind over the last week, I would like to offer some suggestions as to what lessons are there.  Please understand that in no way do I consider myself to be an expert as to what the discipleship process is to look like.  Furthermore, I do not consider myself to be a deconstructionist.  However, I am deeply grieved that we have SO many spiritually immature Christians in the American church today.  My fear is that in our zeal to establish conversions, we have neglected to “make disciples”.  Therefore, it is as Paul said, “with fear and trembling” that I work out these these thoughts on discipleship.

Before you read any further it would be best to check out this link to the clip I’m referring to so you will know where I am coming from with my comments.

  1. Let us first and foremost understand that the parallels I am drawing are  primarily figurative.  In the clip Duncan MacLeod is training Richie Ryan to fight with his sword.  We are called to spiritual warfare, not physical.  The application is brought out by the Apostle Paul as he tells the Ephesians that the Word is the sword of the Spirit.
  2. Discipleship works best in small group settings.  In the clip we see a one on one scenario. Jesus himself spent the bulk of His three year ministry with a group of twelve, and let’s not forget that He often pulled aside even smaller groups than that at various times for individual instruction.  I think the key is that the process needs to be life on life. What if every Christian had someone they could call there mentor?
  3. I can’t get past the fact that this particular clip displays discipleship in the context of training to fight.  As I established in “Discipleship”, life is war.  It is a spiritual war.  We often forget that. In fact, some people walk through there entire Christian life never understanding that at all.  Therefore, as we embark on the discipleship process we should not only make people aware of the battle, we should prepare them for it.
  4. As Duncan taught Richie to fight, he showed him defensive moves, as well as offensive.  Furthermore, the sword was used for both.  We need to be “fluent” enough in the Word to use it in all situations that we face in life, whether they be offensive or defensive.

Those are my thoughts.  I would love to hear yours so feel free to post any comments you might have.  Just keep it friendly.  No hostility please 🙂

One response to “Training For Battle

  1. Pingback: Communication in a Time of War | The Kingdom Journey

Leave a Reply

