If you could only bring 10….

The Bible

Image via Wikipedia

How much does the Gospel mean to you?  In the Apostle Paul’s last days he sent word to Timothy to bring his books and parchments.  While we can not be sure exactly what the books and parchments were, one thing is certain.  As he was awaiting the certainty of death his mind was still filled with a desire to read and communicate with others about the Gospel.

“When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, also the books, and above all the parchments.” 2 Timothy 4:13 ESV

This verse came to my mind this weekend as I read a question posed by another blogger.  It was a question that was very thought provoking and definitely not easy to answer.  After commenting on the post I was curious to know how the readers of this blog would answer.  Although I will alter it slightly to fit with the verse above, the point remains  the same.

If you were in prison and could only bring 10 books of the Bible, 5 from the OT & 5 from the NT, which ones would you choose.  Below is my list:

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Deuteronomy
  4. Psalms
  5. Proverbs
  1. Luke
  2. John
  3. Acts
  4. Ephesians
  5. Philippians

As you ponder the question I encourage you to think about why you would choose each one and just how important it would be for you to have them with you.  After all, that’s ultimately why I have asked.

I’m looking forward to seeing which ones you would choose 🙂 And, in case you would like to check out the other blog here is a link to the post.

6 responses to “If you could only bring 10….

  1. Three that i would take (at least) would be Psalms – there have been many times when it has been God’s pep talk to me in tough times, Hebrews because it connects Old and New Testaments and John as the passionate telling of the Gospel. Thanks for the post.

  2. The five books I would bring from the Old Testament are: Genesis, Isaiah, Job, Psalm and Leviticus (Old Testament)

    New Testament: Matthew, John, Acts, Romans, Ephesians

  3. Hi. Very interesting and thought provoking post. I just wanted to come by and say thank you for visiting my blog, and I’m glad you enjoyed the post.. I look forward to seeing more from you. I’ll come back to your question when I’ve had some time to think about it.

  4. Oh let me think, right off I’d say:
    1. Ruth,
    2. Ezekiel
    3. Isaiah
    4. Job
    5. Micah
    N.T:
    1.Revelation (toss up between John and Revelation, can I have the rest of them? 🙂 didn’t think so. You said 5.
    2.Romans,
    3. Hebrews,
    4. Ephesians,
    5. Galations

Leave a Reply

