A World Wide Kingdom

Earth

Image via Wikipedia

I have been mesmerized as of late by the universality of Christianity. – WAIT!  DON’T LEAVE! – Before you navigate away from my blog never to return again, let me explain what I mean.  I am not making the argument that some might think.  I am not making a “Rob Bell type” argument for Christianity.  No, this is not an all roads lead to heaven argument by any means.  What I am referring to, what I am fascinated by, is that the Kingdom of God is not bound by geography.  In other words, Christianity is not a localized entity, but a Kingdom that spans the globe.

It might sound self explanatory but I, and I know there are others that are guilty of this as well, have often viewed Christianity through the lenses of my own experience.  Consequently, I defined it through my experience.  Thus, I viewed Christianity as a Western religion that needed to be exported to the rest of the world, a westernization of the world you might say.  This thought process was not so much conscious as it was subconscious.  Nevertheless, this sort of thinking is flawed.  Its problem lies in its perspective, for while Christianity should indeed be carried throughout the world, it is not a western thing at all.  It’s much much bigger than that.  As I said before, Christianity is not bound by geography.  It is not a localized entity, but a Kingdom that spans the globe.

The universality of the Kingdom does not stop there though, for what is even more amazing to me is that Christianity is not bound by time either.  Let me explain what I mean.  Back in August I published a post that expounded on a quote that describes what I am trying to say.

“All of the traditions have an equal right to appeal to the early history of Christian exegesis… Protestants have a right to the Fathers.  Athanasius is not owned by the Copts, nor is Augustine owned by North Africans.  These minds are common possession of the whole church.  The Orthodox do not have exclusive rights over Basil, nor do the Romans over Gregory the Great.  Christians everywhere have equal claim to the riches and are discovering them and glimpsing  their unity in the body of Christ.”

~Thomas Oden~

You see, the Holy Spirit is not bound by time, so neither is knowledge and revelation.  And since knowledge and revelation are not bound by time, neither is the Kingdom of God.  We are all connected by the Spirit.  We (all those that follow Jesus) are bound by “one body and one Spirit … one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all” – Ephesians 4:4-6 ESV  I don’t know about you, but I find that to be AMAZING!  The fact that we are connected to all believers across space and time is absolutely awesome!  As I think about it my attention is once more drawn to Revelation 7:

“I looked and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!”

~ Revelation 7:9-10 ESV ~

3 responses to “A World Wide Kingdom

  1. The problem with the quote by Oden is that some of those early “fathers” left the truth of the 1st century Church. You also mentioned “traditions.” When man’s tradition gets in the way of the Gospel and the message of Jesus, that is a problem as well.

    • Hey Scott! Thanks for your comment. I apologize if any of those particular “fathers” were in error. I do admit I was not familiar with all of them and in retrospect it was probably a little careless to use the quote without being completely familiar with them. However, it was not my intention to put any one of those people forward. Rather, I was emphasizing the work of the Holy Spirit across space and time. That being said, I was definitely not trying to emphasize tradition, I would also like to emphasize that there are no authors that I would read without subjecting them to Scripture. I hope that clears up my intentions. Thanks again for pointing out your concerns.

Leave a Reply

