Mining for Gold

With a fresh new year underway I find myself, as it seems to have become custom for me now, embarking on a new one year Bible reading plan.  This years plan is that found in the ESV Study Bible and breaks each day into four different sections (the Psalms and Wisdom Literature, Pentateuch and History of Israel, Chronicles and Prophets, and Gospels and Epistles).  Now I don’t know about you but as I read through the Bible I find that there are some books that I absolutely love reading, yet others are absolute drudgery to get through.  While I don’t think I’m alone in this sentiment, it bothers me to feel this way for as Paul told Timothy, “all Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching – 2 Timothy 3:16 ESV”.  So this is what I have tried to do.  Whenever I find myself board with a particular book I make it my mission to find a new appreciation for that book.  I read synopses in study Bibles and commentaries.  I spend extra time in those particular books looking for a bigger picture.  And, I look for things I’ve never noticed before.  I post this today because, as I said before, I don’t believe I’m alone in my sentiments.  Perhaps there are books that get you  bogged down every time you try to complete a one year plan.  Maybe there are books, or sections of books, that you simply always skim over.  I would encourage you this year to mine those books and passages for the treasure that is just waiting to be found.  You might gain a new perspective that you would have otherwise never have found.

3 responses to “Mining for Gold

  1. Pingback: Commentary? | THE KINGDOM JOURNEY

  2. Pingback: Reading Through the Bible | THE KINGDOM JOURNEY

Leave a Reply

